Friday, September 30, 2011

Switchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 English Christian Album

Switchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 English Christian AlbumSwitchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 English Christian Album
Vice Verses is the eighth studio rock album released by American Christian Alternative Rock band Switchfoot. This album was released on September 27, 2011 and released under the label Lower Case people Records/Atlantic.

Album Details ::

Album :: Vice Versus

Artist :: Switchfoot

Release Date :: September 27, 2011

Genre :: Rock

Label ::
Lowercase people Records/Atlantic

Location :: San Diego, California, USA

Switchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 biography and historySwitchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 biography and history
History ::
Switchfoot is an American rock band from San Diego, California. The band's members are Jon Foreman (lead vocals, guitar), Tim Foreman (bass guitar, backing vocals), Chad Butler (drums, percussion), Jerome Fontamillas (guitar, keyboards, backing vocals), and Drew Shirley (guitar, backing vocals).

After early successes in the Christian rock scene, Switchfoot first gained mainstream recognition with the inclusion of four of their songs in the 2002 movie A Walk to Remember. This recognition led to their major label debut, The Beautiful Letdown, which was released in 2003. It went on to sell over 2.6 million copies. They have since been noted for their energetic live shows, and their seventh studio album Hello Hurricane received a Grammy award in 2011 for Best Rock Gospel Album.

According to Jon Foreman, the name "Switchfoot" is a surfing term. "We all love to surf and have been surfing all our lives so to us, the name made sense. To switch your feet means to take a new stance facing the opposite direction. It's about change and movement, a different way of approaching life and music.

Switchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 English Christian Album discography tracks lyrics band membersSwitchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 English Christian Album discography tracks lyrics band members
Switchfoot was founded in 1996 as Chin Up, consisting of Jon Foreman and his brother Tim, along with Chad Butler on drums. After playing only a few shows, the band was contacted by music industry veteran Charlie Peacock and eventually signed to his indie label Re:think Records under the current moniker, Switchfoot. Re:think went on to distribute the first three Switchfoot albums, The Legend of Chin, New Way to Be Human, and Learning to Breathe. Because Re:think was bought out by Christian giant Sparrow Records before Switchfoot's first release, however, the band's and Peacock's intentions of being marketed outside of the Contemporary Christian music scene and reaching a wider audience were put on hold. Consequently, the band was mostly marketed exclusively to Christian radio and retail outlets early in their careers, a time Jon Foreman has described as when "half of who we were was lost."

Of Switchfoot's first three albums, Learning to Breathe was the most successful, being certified gold by the RIAA, and receiving a Grammy nomination for Best Rock Gospel Album.

Later on in 2002, Switchfoot's music was featured prominently in the movie A Walk to Remember, starring singer and actress Mandy Moore, who sang Switchfoot's song "Only Hope" during a scene in the movie. In addition to Moore's cover of "Only Hope", Switchfoot’s songs “You”, “Learning to Breathe”, and “Dare You to Move” were showcased in the film, as well as their own original version of "Only Hope" towards the end of the film.

Switchfoot has finished working on their next studio project, titled Vice Verses. According to Butler, the core of the record will rest thematically in the idea of the polarity of life. A release date of September 27, 2011 was announced on All Access, with "Dark Horses" hitting modern rock radio on July 20.

Switchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 band membersSwitchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 band members
Band Members ::
  • Jon Foreman (lead vocals, guitar)
  • Tim Foreman (bass guitar, backing vocals)
  • Chad Butler (drums, percussion)
  • Jerome Fontamillas (guitar, keyboards, backing vocals)
  • Drew Shirley (guitar, backing vocals).

Switchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 tracks and lyricsSwitchfoot - Vice Verses 2011 tracks and lyrics
Tracklisting ::

01. Afterlife
02. The Original
03. The War Inside
04. Restless
05. Blinding Light
06. Selling The News
07. Thrive
08. Dark Horses
09. Souvenirs
10. Rise Above It
11. Vice Verses
12. Where I Belong


please comment if you like the post

No comments:

Post a Comment